Latest World and British Ratings (July 2015)

Colin Harris
30/06/2015 10:50am

Boxing Monthly’s World and British rankings for July 2015 are explained by Colin Harris, our in-house ratings statistician. Trainer, fighter, manager and promoter queries are welcome.

World Round-Up:

Heavyweight: Alexander Povetkin won over Mike Perez, who is now dropped from tenth spot. All of No.5-No.9 shuffle down a place as Anthony Joshua (pictured) storms into the Top 10 at No.5. Cruiserweight: Grigory Drozd won, Dmitry Kudryashov and Rakhim Chakhiev won but no-one changes place. Eighth place Thabiso Mchunu is dropped after losing to Ilunga Makabu - who enters at No.5, while Krzysztof Wlodarczyk drops to seventh. Light-heavyweight: Thomas Oosthuizen won (although overweight) but no changes. Super-middleweight: James DeGale becomes IBF champ and leaps up to second place, with Andre Dirrell losing out but still going up to third.  Everyone else shuffles down a couple of places. Middleweight: Gennady Golovkin and Miguel Cotto each won. Daniel Geale is dropped from ninth, with Hassan N’Dam N’Jikam moving up to No.9 and David Lemieux coming in at tenth. Super-welterweight: No changes. Welterweight: Kell Brook won and rises to third over Timothy Bradley. Amir Khan won but stays seventh. Super-lightweight: No changes.  Lightweight: Jorge Linares won over Kevin Mitchell, who drops to 10th below Dejan Zlaticanin - while Linares jumps up to No.2 and shuffles everyone down a placement. Super-featherweight: Javier Fortuna won over Bryan Vasquez and took the vacant WBA title in the process, leaping up to fourth place and shuffling our previous No.4-No.8 down a spot each. Featherweight: Lee Selby won and became IBF champ, climbing up to fourth place, with Evgeny Gradovich losing to him and dropping to No.6 under Simpiwe Vetyeka. Jayson Velez won and climbs to seventh while Marvin Sonsona won but slips to tenth. Super-bantamweight: Kid Galahad drops out of tenth as Rey Vargas appears, in our only change. Bantamweight: Suriyan Sor Rungsvisai and Rodrigo Guerrero each won but we have no actual changes. Super-flyweight: Zolani Tete vacated the IBF title, Srisaket Sor Rungsvisai won and David Sanchez won, but we have no actual changes. Flyweight: Roman Gonzalez won over Edgar Sosa, who drops to seventh below Brian Viloria. Light-flyweight: Adrian Hernandez is dropped (second flyweight fight in a row and he lost) and Moises Fuentes is dropped, too, as he is now at flyweight for a year and rated in that division by the WBO, so No.5-No.10 all shuffle-up two places. Javier Mendoza won against Milan Melindo and climbs to No.4 with Melindo also actually rising to No.6. Paipharob Kokietgym won and goes seventh with Rey Loreto dropping to No.8, and we bring in Francisco Rodriguez Jr as No.9 and Randy Petalcorin as our new tenth place. Minimumweight: Wanheng Menayothin won and Kosei Tanaka became the new WBO champ, climbing to fifth in the process and shuffling the previous No.5-No.7 all down a spot.

British Round-Up:

Heavyweight: Tyson Fury vacated the European title, Anthony Joshua and Gary Cornish both won but there are no actual changes. Cruiserweight: Nathan Cleverly has gone back down to light-heavyweight so everyone No.3-No.10 shuffles-up and we bring in Central Area champ Wayne Adeniyi as our new No.10. Light-heavyweight: Cleverly returns to light-heavyweight as our new No.2 and everyone No.2-No.10 shuffles down (Mike Stafford is dropped). Super-middleweight: James DeGale goes second, while becoming IBF champion, over old-rival George Groves who drops to No.3. Paul Smith is no longer British champion. Middleweight: John Ryder drops to No.6 as he loses to Nick Blackwell, who is new British champion and goes up to fifth accordingly. Matthew Macklin goes back to No.4 and Eamonn O’Kane drops to No.7. Light-middleweight: Kris Carslaw and Jason Welborn each won - with them switching ranks between No.7 and No.8. Welterweight: Kell Brook won over Frankie Gavin - who is no longer British champion, but we have no actual changes. Light-welterweight: Lenny Daws is no longer EU champion. Dave Ryan won over John Wayne Hibbert – who is now dropped from tenth and replaced by Chris Jenkins. Lightweight: Kevin Mitchell lost.  Scott Cardle won the British title by beating Craig Evans but we have no actual changes.  Super-featherweight:  John Simpson won but we have no changes. Featherweight: Lee Selby won and became IBF champion.  John Slowey and James Tennyson each won but neither moves ranking, while Southern Area champ Jamie Speight becomes our new No.10 as he beats Ian Bailey. Featherweight: Josh Wale has gone up to feather so is dropped from eighth, Paul Economides and Robbie Turley each go up a spot and we bring in Gamal Yafai as our new tenth place. Super-bantamweight: No changes. Bantamweight: Ross Burkinshaw lost and also vacated the Commonwealth title, which was won by Jason Cunningham - who leaps from No.8 to No.6 and shuffles Ryan Farrag and Jason Booth down a place each. Super-flyweight: Jamie Wilson won but we have no actual changes. Flyweight: No changes.

NB: Please note that Boxing Monthly has acknowledged the recent agreement and alignment off the WBC/WBA/IBF in regards to the classification of the weight classes and their names. In the British ratings, we still adhere with the BBBofC, but in our world listings the classes are now named in conjunction with the three governing bodies who agree on the terminology.