Latest World and British Ratings (August 2015)

Colin Harris
03/08/2015 11:02am

Boxing Monthly’s World and British rankings for August 2015 are explained by Colin Harris, our in-house ratings statistician. Trainer, fighter, manager and promoter queries are welcome.

British Round-Up:

Heavyweight: Gary Cornish won but there are no changes. Cruiserweight: Tony Bellew and Tony Conquest both won but remain in position. Craig Kennedy beat Courtney Fry and leaps up from No.8 to No.3 accordingly, shuffling the rest down. Light-heavyweight: Leon Senior is dropped for inactivity so No.8-No.10 all shuffle up. Bob Ajisafe won and became Commonwealth champion. Miles Shinkwin and Callum Johnson were both active and won, while our new No.10 is Andreas Evangelou. Super-middleweight: Carl Froch announced his retirement so everyone shuffles up a spot, however Martin Murray (pictured) moves up from middleweight with a win and enters our rankings at No.5, shuffling the bottom-half back down accordingly. Callum Smith won, while Paul Smith lost – dropping down to No.7 under Rocky Fielding. Middleweight: Martin Murray has gone to 12st so everyone previously No.2-No.10 shuffles-up a spot. Lewis Taylor won and became English champion, moving up to No.7 over Tom Doran, and we bring Adam Etches back in No.10. Light-middleweight: Navid Mansouri won over Sam Sheedy but neither changes place. Damon Jones has decided to stay at middleweight so our new number 10 is Jimmy Kelly. Welterweight: Amir Khan won and Denton Vassell won twice, but we have no changes. Light-welterweight: Darren Hamilton and Jack Catterall each won, but we have no actual changes. Lightweight: Terry Flanagan won and became WBO champ, moving up from No.3 to No.1 in our list. Gary Buckland also won but doesn’t change position.  Super-featherweight: Liam Walsh and Anthony Townend each won but we have no actual changes. Featherweight: No changes.  Super-bantamweight: Robbie Turley won but there’s no actual changes. Bantamweight: Lee Haskins and Ryan Burnett each won but we have no actual changes. Super-flyweight: Paul Butler and Jamie Conlan both won but we have no actual changes. Flyweight: No changes.

World Round-Up:

Heavyweight: Deontay Wilder won. Ruslan Chagaev impressively leaps into our rankings at No.9, pushing Kubrat Pulev to No.10 and Artur Szpilka out. Cruiserweight: Tony Bellew won but drops below Ramirez to No.10 in our only change. Light-heavyweight: Artur Beterbiev won but we have no changes. Super-middleweight: WBA-Super champ Andre Ward comes back in as No.1, but as Carl Froch retires it’s a straight swap and no-one else changes ranking. Middleweight: Jermain Taylor is dropped from No.5, Martin Murray is dropped from No.6 as he moves up to 12st, and Sam Soliman is dropped from No.10 with his latest loss.  David Lemieux wins and becomes IBF champ by beating Hassan N’Jikam and rises to No.5.  Daniel Jacobs moves up a place to No.6 while we bring in Billy Joe Saunders, Chris Eubank Jr and Michel Soro to No.7-No.9, with N’Jikam holding on to 10th place.  Super-welterweight: Erislandy Lara won, but there’s no actual changes. Welterweight:  Floyd Mayweather was stripped of the WBO title and Tim Bradley was later proclaimed WBO champ. Juan Manuel Marquez is dropped from No.5 spot due to inactivity and everyone lower shuffles-up. Keith Thurman and Shawn Porter each won with Porter going up to No.7 over Marcos Maidana. We bring-in Danny Garcia as our No.10, up from light-welter (we normally wait for a fighter to compete at the new weight before changing their ranking, but as Garcia has already been stepping into the weight and has now just ‘officially’ announced his move to 147, this counts as a warranted-exception). Super-lightweight: Danny Garcia is dropped from No.2 as he goes to welter. Both Jessie Vargas and Adrien Broner are dropped from No.6 and No.7 for the same reason (although neither go into our top ten there) everyone else shuffles up accordingly. We bring in Rances Barthelemy, Jose Benavidez and Eduard Troyanovsky as our new No.8-No.10. Lightweight: Bey vacated the IBF title. Dejan Zlaticanin won and goes up to No.8 over Ray Beltran, while Kevin Mitchell is replaced in No.10 spot by new WBO champ Terry Flanagan.  Super-featherweight: No changes. Featherweight: Nicholas Walters won but was stripped of the WBA belt. No actual changes. Super-bantamweight: Andres Guttierez has moved-up in poundage and leaves our 122 rankings, with No.8-10 all shuffling up accordingly. Shingo Wake won and our new No.10 is Albert Pagara. Bantamweight: Suriyan Sor Rungvisai won but we have no actual changes. Super-flyweight: No changes. Flyweight: Amnat Ruenroeng won over John Riel Casimero, who gets dropped from No.10 to be replaced by McWilliams Arroyo. Light-flyweight: Donnie Nietes won over Francisco Rodriguez Jr, Pedro Guevara won and Paipharob Kokietgym won, but we have no actual changes. Minimumweight: Knockout (Niyomtrong) CP Freshmart won against Alexis Diaz and moves to third over Katsunori Takayama.

Photo credit: Lawrence Lustig.